How many fluid ounces can you travel with on an airplane?

You can carry on as many 3.4 fluid ounce (100 ml) containers as you can fit into a one quart clear plastic bag. There is no limit on liquids in checked baggage, but there are a number of items that are prohibited, such as alcohol over 140 proof