How does the ghost detector work?

"Ghost detectors" usually refer to EMF detectors or TriField meters. These devices detect fluctuations in magnetic, electric, radio, and microwave energy levels. Some investigators have speculated that anomalous readings in those energy fields may indicate the presence of a ghost.