Can i use brown sugar instead of white sugar?

Brown sugar is just white sugar mixed with molasses. If you have molasses you can make you're own brown sugar. You should be able to use white sugar instead but it will have a different taste in your recipe.

---

no. It will add a different flavour to whatever you are making. If the recipe calls for sugar, it will added sweetness. If you se brown sugar, it will add sweetness as well as a different flavour.