What does dress to the nines mean?

If you say that someone is “dressed to the nines” you mean that they are wearing very smart or elegant clothes. Many suggest this comes from the Scottish phrase "to the nine" meaning "to perfection, just right,” which The Scottish National Dictionary speculates is derived from the game of ninepins.