How long do i soak pinto beans?

Before you cook pinto beans, rinse them well and soak them in water for at least 8 hours. Then, drain them and simmer them in fresh water for 1.5 to 2.5 hours while making sure they are always covered with water. When they're done cooking, drain them and use them as needed.