What is thirteen reasons why on netflix about?

The series revolves around high school student Clay Jensen and the aftermath of high school student Hannah Baker's suicide. She leaves behind a box of cassette tapes in which she details the reasons why she chose to end her life as well as the people she believes are responsible for her death.