Why do they call it a corn dog?

A corn dog is a hot dog wrapped in a jacket of cornmeal batter.

---

This curious and tasty snack gets its name from its simple yet brilliant design: a hot dog fitted onto a wooden stick, coated with a thick layer of sweetened cornmeal batter and fried until golden brown. Its name is a hybrid of its ingredients, cornmeal & hot dog.