What's the difference between aggravated assault and assault?

Generally assault means causing physical harm to another, minor, and can be as simple as grabbing someone or poking htem in the chest. Aggravated assault means causing SERIOUS bodily harm to another, or exhibiting or using a deadly weapon during the crime. A much more serious crime.