Tell me about the nineteen eighty nine earthquake in san francisco?

On October 17, 1989, a magnitude 6.9 earthquake hit the San Francisco Bay Area and caused more than $5 billion in damages. It lasted 10–15 seconds and measured 6.9 on the Richter Scale.