Why did the u. s. and vietnam go to war?

In November of 1955, under then President Dwight D. Eisenhower, the United States sent troops into Vietnam, as the Military Assistance Advisory Group, to train The Army of the Republic of Vietnam to fight the Viet Mimh and stop the spread of communism.