When do elves on the shelf come out?

The traditional elf on the shelf typically start showing up in homes between Thanksgiving and December 1st and come out every night while the children are asleep until Christmas Eve

---

Elves come out sometime between Nov 24th and Dec 1st, and keep watch over children until Christmas Eve. Once they're invited into your home, they fly to the North Pole every night to report to Santa about how naughty or nice the kids have been, then return to a new spot in the house each morning.