How many types of australian shepherds are there?

Australian Shepherd dogs are a breed that have varied coat colors. There are sixteen accepted coat colors of the breed. The most popular colors are the Merle colors. Merle colored Australian Shepherds should not be breed to each other. The resulting breeding can result in blind and deaf pups.