Why do people spit?

Most people spit because they have made excessive saliva, have coughed up phlegm, or have a foreign object in their mouths and they do not want to swallow it. A lot of the time it has become habitual so most spitters feel a compulsion to spit; it feels weird in their mouths of they do not.

---

Spitting is just a way to get rid of the excess of saliva that accumulates in one's mouth, or in some cases objects or food that is undesired in the mouth. In some cultures, however, spitting is considered bad manners and should be avoided.