Why do people spit?

Most people spit because they have made excessive saliva, have coughed up phlegm, or have a foreign object in their mouths and they do not want to swallow it. A lot of the time it has become habitual so most spitters feel a compulsion to spit; it feels weird in their mouths of they do not.