How do you use a thermos?

For hot drinks: fill the thermos with hot water; pour the water out; refill thermos immediately with the hot drink and put the lid on tightly. For cold drinks: fill the thermos with ice and water; pour the ice out; refill thermos immediately with the cold drink and put the lid on tightly.