Why are the oscars named the oscars?

The academy officially renamed the trophies to "Oscars" in 1939, but a dispute to this day about the actual origin it stems from an article by Sidney Skolsky in 1931 to 1934 when Walt Disney says "Oscar" plus an article in Time magazine, as well as, a biography about Bette Davis naming it.