What is a verb ending in i. n. g.?

A verb ending in I-N-G is called a participle. Here's an example: John was playing a new video game. I-N-G verbs can also function as adjectives: The plumber fixed the leaking faucet. And as nouns: Swimming cools you off on a hot day.