Is captain marvel a woman or a man?

woman

---

The original superhero 1969 was a male alien named Mar-Vell who posed undercover on Earth as a human scientist. His girlfriend was Carol Danvers. However, Danvers became Captain Marvel in 1977 with powers including superhuman strength, durability, and flight. So, YES, Captain Marvel is both!