How long does it take for cardboard to break down?

When placed in a landfill, it takes approximately 2 months for cardboard to decompose. However, the time it takes may vary depending on how thick the cardboard is and how wet the conditions are. Any coating on the cardboard will cause it to take up to 1 year.