What's the difference between a sweet potato and yam?

Yams are starchy and have a rough, brown exterior. They are eaten in parts of Latin America, West Africa, the Caribbean, and Asia. Sweet potatoes are a New World root vegetable, have a softer, reddish skin, a creamier interior, and often, a darker interior.