What is the little drummer boy?

"The Little Drummer Boy" (originally known as "Carol of the Drum") is a popular Christmas song written by American composer Katherine Kennicott Davis in 1941.[1] First recorded in 1951 by the Trapp Family, the song was further popularized in 1958