How did bloody mary become bloody mary?

Many believe the drink was dubbed a Bloody Mary after Queen Mary Tudor and her particularly bloody reign over England in the 16th century. However, a 1934 ad, noted by Esquire, states that entertainer George Jessel named the drink after a friend, Mary Geraghty.