What is minecraft redstone?

In Minecraft, Redstone is a red powder that can be used to carry electrical current. With it, one can create new machines, automate farming, expedite the mining process and more. Redstone is usually found at block level 10 in the Overworld. You will need at least an iron pick in order to mine it.