Are the marines part of the navy?

The United States Marine Corps is a department of the Navy but they are still considered their own branch of the military.

---

While the Marine Corps is its own branch of the U.S. military, it falls under the administration of the Department of the Navy.

---

In the United States, the Department of the Navy, led by the Secretary of the Navy, oversees both the Marine Corps and the Navy.