How does a garbanzo bean grow?

Chickpea plants are bushy and grow to about 18 inches, making them ideal for containers. The "peas" themselves are actually seeds encased in small pods that grow on the plant. Chickpeas grow best when temperatures hover between 70 and 80 degrees during the day, and stay above 65 degrees at night.