Why are some eggs white and why are some eggs brown?

The reason some eggs are white, others brown is the eggshell color depends on the breed of the hen. Usually white eggs come from white feathered hens while brown shell eggs are produced by hens with brown feathers. Nutritionally, both are identical unless the feed has been altered.