How long does it take to break a habit?

It takes a minimum of 21 days for an old mental image to dissolve and a new one to gel. More recently, a study of 96 people published in The European Journal of Social Psychology found it took on average 66 days to form a new habit, such as eating fruit at lunch or running for 15 minutes a day.