Why is it called the golden gate bridge?

It’s actually named after the Golden Gate Strait that runs beneath it. This narrow stretch of water below the bridge connects the Pacific Ocean on the west to San Francisco Bay on the east. As for the strait itself, its name predates the start of the Gold Rush in 1849.

---

It comes from the California state nickname of "The Golden State". Also, the bridge spans the entrance to San Francisco Bay like a gate.

---

Golden Gate Bridge is named after the Golden Gate Strait that runs beneath it. This narrow stretch of water below the bridge connects the Pacific Ocean on the west to San Francisco Bay on the east.

---

The Golden Gate Bridge spans the Golden Gate, the strait that connects the San Francisco Bay to the Pacific Ocean.

---

because the nickname of the state of california is 'the golden state'