How far up is the sun?

Earth's orbit around the sun is not a circle, but an oval. Earth's closest approach to the sun, called perihelion, is in early January and is about 91 million miles, or 146 million kilometers. The distance from Earth to the sun is called an astronomical unit, or AU.