What's inside of fire?

Fire is matter in the form of hot gas. Typically the gasses in a flame include carbon dioxide, water vapor, oxygen, and nitrogen. If a fire gets hot enough, some or all of the flame may change to another form of matter called "plasma", in which the gas has become largely ionized.