What is the legend of pandora?

In Greek mythology, Pandora was the first human woman created by Hephaestus on the instructions of Zeus. Each god cooperated by giving her unique gifts. Pandora opened a jar (pithos), in modern accounts sometimes mistranslated as "Pandora's box", releasing all the evils of humanity.