Why does sonic like chili dogs?

Sonic's love for chili dogs first appears in the Sonic the Hedgehog story bible, written by the Reeds and Len Janson and dated February-March 1992. In it, Sonic's Uncle Chuck made chili dogs and Sonic was the enthusiastic delivery boy.