Where did corned beef and cabbage originate from?

Often eaten on St. Patrick's Day, corned beef and cabbage is Irish-American in origin. The dish evolved from traditional Irish meals of smoked pork and potatoes as Irish-Americans substituted other ingredients more readily available in the United States.