How many times have we run out of hurricane names?

Only twice has the National Hurricane Center (NHC) ever run out of human names for tropical storms and had to turn to its backup.

---

The practice of naming storms began in 1950. We’ve run out of names twice, 2005 & 2020. From now on the WMO will use a supplemental list of names instead of the Greek alphabet.