What is cream francais?

Creme fresh is a dairy product, a soured cream containing 10–45% butterfat, with a pH of approximately 4.5. It is soured with a bacterial culture and served over fruit and baked goods, and added to soups and sauces. It's less sour and fattier than sour cream, which may contain thickening agents.