What did teddy roosevelt do?

Vice President Theodore Roosevelt became U.S. President in 1901, following the death of President William McKinley. Before that, he had been Assistant Secretary of the Navy and Governor of New York. Roosevelt gained national fame as leader of the Rough Riders during the Spanish-American War.