Who invented the helmet?

Dr. Eric Gardner had a shellacked canvas head covering made for the protection of a motorcycle rider's head in 1914. Hence the idea of the helmet was born.

---

It was first in 1914, that a British physician Dr. Eric Gardner commissioned a shellacked canvas to protect a rider's head. This is how the first helmet was born.