Did abraham lincoln stop the civil war?

Abraham Lincoln, our 16th president, didn't end the civil war on his own, though his actions and Union generals, particularly, Ulysses S. Grant, did end the war. Though Lincoln's ideals to end slavery, led to the succession of the southern states, which ignited the war.