What is a long grain rice?

Long-grain rice has a length that's three to five times its width. (Long boi.) One of the most prized long-grain rices is the intensely aromatic basmati, which was traditionally grown in the foothills of the Himalayas. It's slim, with an elegant curve, and can triple in length when cooked.