Why is amber alert called amber alert?

An amber alert is a message distributed by a alert system to ask the public for help in finding abducted children. AMBER is an acronym for America's Missing: Broadcast Emergency Response, named after Amber Hagerman, a 9-year-old girl abducted and murdered in Texas, in 1996.