Why are there holes in the middle of cheez its?

The reason there are holes in Cheez-It crackers is the result of a process called "docking." Docking is the process of puncturing the dough of soon-to-be crackers, thereby crimping the top and bottom layers of it together. Doing so allows steam to escape from the crackers while they bake.