What does enteric mean?

Enteric: of or relating to the intestines; alimentary. An enteric coating on oral medication protecting drugs from the acidity of the stomach, the stomach from the detrimental effects of the drug, or to release the drug after the stomach (usually in the upper tract of the intestine).