What is food cross contamination?

Cross-contamination is how bacteria can spread. It occurs when juices from raw meats or germs from unclean objects touch cooked or ready-to-eat foods. By following a few simple steps as you shop, store, cook, and transport foods, you can greatly reduce your risk of food poisoning.