Is steam supposed to come out of electric pressure cooker?

So, should pressure cookers let out steam during their cooking process? Yes. The lid on your pressure cooker is designed to maintain a safe level of pressure within the cooker and when the pressure builds too high, a safety valve will open to release the right amount of excess pressure