What's a recipe for homemade mac and cheese?

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Cook macaroni in the boiling water, stirring occasionally until cooked through, roughly 8 minutes. Now drain the water from the macaroni. Add a quarter cup of butter, 1 cup of milk, salt & pepper, and 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese to the macaroni. Mix well.