Why are there two carolina's?

The history of the division of the original colony of Carolina into North and South Carolina is not clear. There are conflicting stories and reasons given.

---

As the two locales evolved separately and as their differing geographies and inhabitants steered contrasting courses, calls for a formal split emerged. Carolina officially split into 2 colonies in 1712.