How many tectonic plates are on earth?

The Earth is broken up into seven major tectonic plates which are the African plate, Antarctic plate, Eurasian plate, Indo-Australian plate, North American plate, Pacific plate and South American plate. There is another 10 minor tectonic plates plus other micro tectonic plates.