Do plants produce oxygen?

Yes. Plants release oxygen when they use energy from sunlight to make glucose from carbon dioxide and water. It takes six molecules of CO2 to produce one molecule of glucose by photosynthesis, and six molecules of oxygen are released as a by-product.

---

Plants produce oxygen in a process called photosynthesis.

---

Plants produce oxygen in a process called photosynthesis.