How did the great sphinx lose it's nose?

Arab historian al-Maqrīzī wrote in the 15th century that the nose was destroyed by a man named Muhammad Sa'im al-Dahr because he was angry when people kept praying to the statue.

---

According to Mark Lehner who performed an archeological study, marks on the nose area suggest that it was intentionally broken off using long rods or chisels hammered down from the bridge and up from the nostril. It’s believed this removal occurred between the 3rd and 10th centuries AD.