What causes black circles under the eyes?

Oversleeping, fatigue, or just staying up a few hours past your normal bedtime can cause dark circles to form under your eyes. Lack of sleep can cause fluid to build underneath your eyes, causing them to appear puffy. The dark circles you see may actually be shadows cast by your puffy eyelids