Who is cotton eye joe?

Cotton Eye Joe is a character in a song by Rednex. An example of the lyrics: If it hadn't been for Cotton-Eye Joe I'd been married a long time ago Where did you come from, where did you go? Where did you come from, Cotton-Eye Joe?…